The Trouble with (One-Sided) Love Is…

Getting over someone you love is hard. It’s harder when you’re getting over someone whom you had a one-sided love to. For once in our life we will somehow experience this, and for some of you, it may not be an easy process to get through.

Saying “I love you” can be liberating. To say it out loud after holding it in for so long, only to have it broken down in pieces when they say “No.”….well I can’t really describe how it feels.

The most beautiful and bold saying in love can be your greatest remorse. It leaves you alone with the regret, and you keep asking yourself, “Why did I say that?”

For what it’s worth, I like you.
And what is worse, I really do.
Things happened worse,
and we had fun fun fun ’til I said I love you.
And what is worse, I really do..

The Cardigans – For What It’s Worth

In season 7 episode 22 of How I Met Your Mother Ted portrayed the people who tried to get over someone they loved, but didn’t love them back. He’s been in love with Robin since the first episode, and even though they became a couple once, he still couldn’t get over her completely. The last confession (when Robin said no again) really struck him, and he’s having a hard time forgetting her. He sees her every time he’s with other girls, and even have imaginary conversations with her in his head. He grew tired of this, and this “conversation” happened:

Ted (T): Why are you still here?
Robin (R): Why do you think I’m still here?
T: I guess… because I’m in love with you. Why else would I be seeing your face everywhere I look?
R: Because you feel bad.
T: Of course I feel bad. I told you I love you, which is apparently the worst thing you can say to someone
R: That’s not why you feel bad. You feel bad because after you said it, you let me go away.. I know our relationship isn’t exactly what you want it to be… and I know I may not love you the way you love me… but I do love you. Isn’t that worth hanging on to..?

*sigh*

Sometimes you wish that your feelings for someone can be turned on and off like a lamp. But it can’t. Because things may not always work out the way we want it to be, but it’s for the better. It always is.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

