Dreams Don’t Turn to Dust – The Owl City Jakarta Concert! (Part 1)

When diamonds boast that they can’t be crushed, let ’em go cause dreams don’t turn to dust!

Owl City – Dreams Don’t Turn to Dust

Yes, it doesn’t! At least in my case, where several of my dreams came true πŸ˜€ I’ve watched the Owl City Jakarta Concert, I bought the original tee, bought Breanne Duren’s EP, and also her original tee! Who knew, that through the pains and journey to Tennis Indoor Senayan, I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to watch the show live!

The journey began when I ride the Transjakarta from Bermis to Dukuh Atas, then I rode the next one to Gelora Bung Karno. I rode a bike to Tennis Indoor, and I was there. It was drizzling, but there’s already a line to enter the Tennis Indoor. I can tell that they are hardcore fans (like me :)) who wants to make sure that they have the best seat/view to the stage πŸ˜€

They opened the venue into the Tennis Indoor after about an hour or so, after checking the bags for drinks and foods. They sold some drinks and food at the venue, so we can’t bring some from outside the venue 😦 And here’s where the dreams starting to be true.

I left my bag at JAVA Musikindo, bringing only my concert ticket, the ticket to pick up my bag, and IDR 200.000 to buy an original merchandise, which was a tee. When I was walking towards the line to enter the stage, I walk past the merchandise counter to see that they sold the original tees that Breanne posted at her blog! I immediately asked for my size, and at that exact time, I saw the EP too!

Oh. My. God! I thought the EP have been sold out since the OC Tour in Australia, so I was shocked that they sold the EP on the venue! Breanne must’ve bring some more before the Asia tour began πŸ˜€ After that, I saw some Owl City’s original tees, and I thought that I should buy one as an authenticity that I WAS on the concert! The tees cost me IDR 200.000 each, and the EP was IDR 50.000. Seriously, it was my allowance for almost a month, but I know it worth every penny of it! Hello, it’s Owl City and Breanne’s original merchandise! I wouldn’t miss it for the world πŸ˜€

The tees and the EP πŸ™‚

They also sold some wristbands and Stuffed Owls, but I’m more interested with the tees and EP πŸ˜‰ After buying the merchandise, I put them inside of my bagpack (meaning, I went back to JAVA Musikindo’s place, then stood in line to enter the venue, feeling so pleased that I finally bought the tees and EP.

It was still about 5 PM or so when they let us stood in line, and they opened the gate at about 6.30 or so (I didn’t bring my phone or watch with me, so feel free to correct me if i’m wrong :))Β When I enter the stage, I immediately saw Breanne’s red Nord keyboard, the one and only keyboard that I saw on her video and on Owl City’s concerts. I stood on the fifth row, still can’t believe that I’m going to see the concert! I immediately regret my decision to left my Galaxy at Java Musikindo’s, but there’s no turning back now. If I run back to get it, I’ll miss the fifth row forever 😦

So there I was, standing at the fifth row, still wishing I brought my Galaxy with me. It was still 06.30, and I wish they start the show immediately, since my feet are hurting from standing. Few people in front of me have been sitting since they “reserved” their place in front, and I did so too at about 7.20 or so because I feel like I will faint when I saw Breanne opening the show since my feet hurts so bad. I sat for about 20 minutes or so, in the midst of the other standing spectators, but I just don’t care. I’d rather be ashamed than fainting on the first song 😐

On 8.15, the stage went dark, and I saw Breanne in her glittering dress, the one that she wore on No One Else video and several other shows. She started walking towards the stage, and I just stood there in awe. She was so beautiful! People say that she’s a lot more beautiful in person, and they are so right! She greets the crowd with her graceful charm, then sang Catapult. Oh my God. Her voice was so dreamy! It was so unreal! I’ve been watching her shows around the world via YouTube, and it’s still waaaaay better when I saw and heard her singing her song in person πŸ˜€

After singing Catapult, she sang Daydreams, Summer Days, Gold Mine, then No One Else. She communicate with the crowd every time she finish the song, and I thought it was the sweetest thing to do. I almost broke out in tears when she sang Summer Days, my favorite track on Sparks.Β I knew that I might be one of the few who know all her songs, but in Summer Days I just stood there and watch Breanne sang it. It was perfection. I feel so blessed :’)

During her performance, she looked like she’s having a great time, and I was right. After the show, she tweeted about how much she loved the crowd. Well, we love YOU, Breanne! After her performance, she recorded the crowd from her red camera that she brought with her when she enter the stage. I hope you make a great Vlog from it Bre πŸ™‚

After Breanne’s performance, the OC crew prepped the stage for the Owl City performance, setting up the mic for Adam, taking all the black sheets covering the instruments, putting up Breanne’s Gaia, and so on. Then, after about 30 minutes, the real magic happens.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

