Moulin Rouge! (2001)

Later today I just felt like watching Moulin Rouge! and write a review on the movie. I know it’s released about a decade ago, but I know that this musical will always be regarded as one of the best musical film ever made. As always, I will begin the review with the plot.

The story takes place in France in 1899, where a young writer named Christian (Ewan McGregor) came to Montmartre to be a writer who writes a story about love. The problem is, he’d never been in love. Suddenly, he came across a bohemian group who’s rehearsing for a play called Spectacular Spectacular. And then after a befuddling introduction into Moulin Rouge and its bohemian idelogy, lo and behold, he’s suddenly meet and fell in love with Satine (Nicole Kidman), a beautiful courtesan, a star in the nightclub. After that, you can watch this movie yourself, because I just can’t spoil it any more than this 🙂

When this movie was released, about a decade ago, my parents wouldn’t let me watch this movie. Ten years later, after I watched this movie myself, I still don’t understand why they wouldn’t. In general, Moulin Rouge! is a musical drama that doesn’t involve many adult scene. I’m just glad that I still keen on watching this movie, even after it was almost impossible to find 😛

Overall, I was very impressed with the combination of the story and the music, because I just can’t imagine any other way to deliver this beautiful musical drama. You’ll get what I mean after you watch it 🙂 As for the acting, I can’t think of any other actors and actresses that can act for these characters, especially Nicole Kidman. I can’t imagine any other actress to play the role of Satine, since she played the part perfectly, it’s as if she IS Satine herself. As for the music, the synthesis of the music was very beautiful, so I take my hat off (if I ever wear one :P) to Craig Armstrong and Marius DeVries, for making some enchanting musics.

In some part, I thought that the director (Baz Luhrman) or maybe the editor (Jill Bilcock) has had too much caffeine while making this beautiful fast-paced musical, since some scenes is going very fast that I can’t wrap my head around it for a moment. But still, in the end it all makes sense. If this musical was a REAL musical (and not a movie), I would be the first to give standing ovation. No wonder this movie won many award, some of them are Golden Globes for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy, Best Actress, and Best Original Score. It’s such a beautiful movie, that I would give this 9 out of 10. If you love music and drama as much as I do, you shouldn’t miss this movie!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

