Breanne Düren – They Call Me October

They call me October
Leaves have dried, branches have died, and I stand shaken
After the browning, I had to leave this place behind
And pray for a better day in time

Can’t boast in anything now
When the fall in its stealth can strip me of my wealth
But what have I got to show for myself?
After the browning I had to leave this place behind
And pray for a better day in time

Can’t be wishin’ that I’m not here now
An unfamiliar place, a whole new face for things
So pure that I am sure
They cannot be broken, they cannot be broken

So beg me not embitter
Though I look so old, stretched slight and cold
I will not be broken, I will not be broken

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

